5 Best Amazon PPC Bid Strategies for Black Friday & Q4


Is your Amazon PPC ready for Q4?  Black Friday… Cyber Monday… Christmas… It is the most wonderful time of the year, if you are ready.  Do you have a strategy around your Amazon PPC for Black Friday and Cyber Monday? If not, BIG MISTAKE… In this video I will be showing you 5 strategies that we are using on our own Amazon PPC account and across our Amazon accounts to help maximize sales and blow away our competition.

If you have not signed up for my FREE 8-week Amazon PPC Masterclass, be sure to sign up by clicking here. 

Tune in as I discuss the 5 best Amazon PPC Strategies that we use during Q4
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5 Best Amazon PPC Bid Strategies for Black Friday & Q4  

1. Cut Out the Junk in Your Amazon PPC Account 

When we take over accounts for the first time, one of the first things we do is clean out the junk in Amazon PPC.  What I see most of the time is thousands upon thousands of keywords that someone is trying to bid on. The problem with this is Amazon doesn’t find you relevant for probably 99% of these keywords so they are just weighing down your Amazon account and your mental space. 

This is a very easy fix.  We want to pause all keywords that are getting ten impressions or less.  

I hear some of you saying that you will miss out on sales if you do this, but you won’t.  The reason is that Amazon does not find you relevant for these keywords, and therefore they’re not showing your product for them.  

Just pause them and move on to more keywords.  

To do this, go into your keywords section inside each ad group in your targeting section.  Adjust the date range to the last 60 days. Apply the filter of Impressions Less Than 10.  

After this, highlight all the words and click pause. 

2. Get Rid of Low Sales Keywords in Your Amazon PPC Account 

This goes back to the number one.  We are cleaning out the keywords that are not producing significant sales for your product, so we need to let them go to focus budget and strategy around the keywords that are making the biggest impact on your sales.  

Filter again by sales that are less than or equal to two ORDERS.  

Highlight all these keywords and pause them. 

Related Article: How to Guide to Scaling Your Amazon PPC

3. Turn on Sponsored Display Ads 

Sponsored Display ads help re-engage shoppers off Amazon who viewed your products or similar products, and drive them to your detail page once again.  This is also known as a retargeting ad, which Amazon used to run for you, but has passed it to the seller now.  

This allows you to follow your potential customer all around the web in hopes that they will purchase your product after seeing you multiple times.  You have probably seen these before when you are browsing around on blogs and reading articles.  

Here is an example on Yahoo.com 

Some best practices for Sponsored Display ads in Amazon PPC is to keep bids and budgets low and do a separate Sponsored Display ad for each individual ASIN in your account.  

I usually start out with a $25 daily budget and a $0.25 cost per click (CPC).  

4. Turn Up Top-Of-Search Placement for Campaigns 

Top of search (first page) bid placement is most likely your most profitable ad placement and it is most likely making most of your sales.  Therefore we want to make sure that we dominate the top of search during this time of higher traffic and increased sales.  

Therefore we need to first calculate how to determine what your baseline top of search should be.  To do this we need to take the best conversion rate divided by the worst conversion rate and subtract one, which will give you the bid adjustment on your specific ad campaign.  

To find our conversion rate we want to takes orders/clicks.

For top of search placement that is 779 orders/1926 clicks = 40% conversion rate

For product pages this is 59 orders/395 clicks = 15%

In our case this is 40% / 15% – 1 = 1.67 = 167% bid adjustment for the best conversion rate placement, which in this case is top of search (and most likely will be for all yours as well).  Thank you AdBadger for this formula and explanation

Therefore we need to set our top of search to 167%. However, it’s the holidays and this is our best seller, so I am going to increase the top of search even more, to 20-50% higher than that.

You will set your top of search to between 187-217%, and I’ve chosen 217%. 

I also made a Free calculator for calculating this in a spreadsheet. Click here to get it.

After opening, go to FILE > Make a Copy to copy it over to your Google Drive to use.

5. Increase the Bid of Your Best Keywords 

Twenty percent of your keywords are producing 80% of your sales.  You can see that by this picture of one of my ad groups. You need to make sure you dominate the keywords that are creating these results for you by increasing your bid significantly to make sure no one beats you out for those keywords on the highest trafficked days of the year.  

As you can see, we have increased the bid to $10 for these three keywords that are producing most of the sales at a profitable ACOS.  

Related Article: How to Guide for Amazon Keyword Research


What’s Next With Your Amazon PPC?

Have you taken my Amazon PPC Masterclass? Click here to get all the Amazon PPC lessons emailed right to your inbox once per week.    This is an actionable lesson every week to take your Amazon PPC to the next level.   Each lesson is also below.  

Step 1 – Track and Measure Your Results

Step 2 – Research Your Competitors

Step 3 – Simplify Your Amazon Keyword Research

Step 4 – Amazon Listing Optimization

Step 5 – Set Up Your Amazon PPC Campaign

Step 6 – SCALE your campaigns

Step 7 – Optimizing Keyword Bids for Increased Profitability

Step 8 – 9 Best Amazon PPC Auto Campaigns Hacks and When to Use Auto Campaigns

Step 9 – Product Display Ads

If you want support in this Amazon PPC journey, this is where I can help. 

How I Can Help Double Your Amazon Sales from Amazon PPC

I’ve set aside time in the next 48 hours to speak to you personally about how you can apply these ideas to your Amazon business starting TODAY.

Whatever your biggest challenge with Amazon PPC, I’ve seen it and know how to overcome it.

We will get on the phone for about 45 minutes and we will work with you to craft a step-by-step game plan to hit your business goals, whether that’s doubling your Amazon sales, increasing keyword rankings, lowering ACoS, or simply just having more love for what you do every single day.

The cost? Absolutely FREE.

But this is not for everybody…

Who This Is For

  1. You MUST have an incredible brand that you are looking to scale. 
  2. You MUST operate your business with integrity and great values.
  3. You MUST be willing to take action to transform your Amazon PPC.
  4. You MUST take accountability for your failures, avoiding excuses for why something can’t be done.
  5. You MUST be coachable.

Why I’m Doing This

I do this because I love helping others attain the financial abundance that we have achieved with our business.

Plus, I know that you might want help transforming your business (it’s tough going it alone!). If so, we can discuss it and see if it’s a good fit for both of us. And if it’s not, I will point you in the direction that you need.

If you’re willing to:

1. Take Action

2. Be Vulnerable

3. Be Coachable

Then I would love to chat with you…  

This is what I love helping people do. This is why I was put here on this Earth… to help people like you grow their Amazon business.

I can show you, step-by-step, how to create efficient, scalable Amazon ads and free yourself from working hours on your ads and second guessing yourself.

All you need to do is book a call here: https://www.growto1million.com

Every day that goes by is more time wasted. Every moment you hesitate is you settling for being less than you were born to be. Let me help you turn your dreams into a reality.

Your future is waiting for you.

Talk soon,

Dr. Travis Zigler

FAQs about Amazon PPC Bid Strategy

When we take over accounts for the first time, one of the first things we do is clean out the junk in Amazon PPC. What I see most of the time is thousands upon thousands of keywords that someone is trying to bid on. The problem with this is Amazon doesn’t find you relevant for probably 99% of these keywords so they are just weighing down your Amazon account and your mental space. Clean out the keywords that are not producing significant sales for your product, so we need to let them go to focus budget and strategy around the keywords that are making the biggest impact on your sales. Then, turn on Sponsored Display Ads and turn up Top os Search Placement. From there, make sure you increase the bid of your best performing keywords.
Amazon Pay-Per-Click is an advertsing platform within Amazon Seller Central that is based on bids made by you and your competitors. Once you begin a campaign, you'll put in your target bid price. This price helps Amazon's intricate search engine place your product at a certain point on a search page. If you do it right, you'll end up at the top of the search results (which is most often the goal).
This depends on your brand, but we see results as early as one week. However, it's best to turn on Amazon PPC and never turn it off. Continually optimize your PPC over time, and you can see amazing results.
Your budget is unique to you and your company, but Amazon does require a minimum of $5 per day. You'll have to budget at least $150 per month, and we recommend going much higher than this to end up at the top of your search results. This article covers this in depth: https://salesfunnelhq.com/how-to-set-up-ppc-on-amazon/